A user logged an issue with me today where they believed a draft version of a page was available on our live sharepoint publishing portal site, despite the page not being published.
While the user could access the page I could not and the page did not appear in the navigation even for the user.
I ran a couple of tests and have deduced that the creator of a page retains owner permissions to that page when it is deployed to live.
This means that they can view the page in live even when not the page has not been approved. However, SharePoint is correctly removing the page from the navigation as it is only draft.
Something to be aware of.